Reflection #2

Throughout this learning cycle, I learned a lot more about poetry than what I had known before. I learnt about found poems, figurative language, sound and structure, and spoken word poetry. I did not know that some of these types of poetry were actually a thing, so I definitely learned more about the different styles of poetry. I chose to do the second writing prompt for my summative assignment as the prompt was to look at a picture and write a poem or a paragraph describing the picture. I chose this one as it was the one I was the most comfortable with.

What I learned from this learning cycle helped me better understand poetry and all of the different ways you can write poetry. I never knew of found poems, and I found them quite interesting. The peer evaluation also helped a lot during this learning cycle as it helped think of new ideas in my poetry.

Because of the knowledge, I have learned from these writing prompts I can apply it to poetry I may have to write in other classes, and I can understand it more when I may have to read it as well.  

Leave a Reply