People and Music

I listen to music walking home from school, doing homework, and working out completely drowning out the noise around me almost all day every day, whenever I can, just like many other people. Almost everyone listens to music, if it’s on their phones, in the car, or even if it’s just playing around in shops. Even if you don’t listen to music all of the time you still hear most days from everything around you, in shows and movies, and from other people.

There are millions of different artists and plenty of different genres out there. The wide variety and selection is great because everyone can enjoy music as there is something different out there for everyone to like. Thinking about the wide assortment there is makes me feel tiny in this world full of people and things. I think the biggest factor that splits people’s favourite types of music is their age, because every generation had a different genre of music come out and become huge while they were young. I think my generation’s favourite music is usually from when they were teenagers, or other memorable times of their lives, as it brings them back to nostalgic times.

I love music because it helps me focus on tasks and also calms me down, like if I’m having an off day it helps quiet everything happening around me so I can focus and forget about everything. When listening to music, I can sometimes picture it in a movie as it just seems like it belongs in one because of the story it tells. Sometimes a song will make me feel like I am in a movie as it absorbs me into it.  Sometimes while watching a movie there is a song playing in the background that just sounds so right and fits perfectly, which always feels so good.

The weirdest thing about music to me is that it can be so nostalgic and can make you travel back to your memories just from a single tune. I also love that right now in our society we have the ability to listen to all of the millions of songs and albums unlike any time before because of the internet and streaming services, like Spotify, and Apple Music. This astonishes me because their is so much music I have not listened to and probably never will, which is obviously fine because there’s no way I would like it all anyway.

Music is like the universal language to the world. Everyone listens to it no matter how different we all are because we all understand it.

1 Comment on People and Music

  1. beaumondeblonde
    March 19, 2018 at 1:15 pm (6 years ago)

    I have a great appreciation for music as well! It has helped me to get through alot of obstacles in my life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply